About Vietnam

The Socialist Republic of Vietnam, shaped like an S, is located on the east side of the Indochinese peninsula and ranks as the 14th most populous country in the world

For more than 1,000 years the north part of Vietnam was part of china. In AD939 an independent Vietnamese state was created. The foundation of the Vietnamese culture was formed through 2 major cultures – Chinese and Indian. And in 1802 we given the name Viet Nam. The country was colonized by the French from the mid-19th century to 1954 which influenced all aspects of life. After the Vietnam war North and South Vietnam were unified in 1976.

Vietnam is split into 63 provinces and cities; geographically three quarters of the country consists of mountainous terrain. Along the coast are many beaches including Lang Co, Nha Trang, Tau, Ha Tien. Major ports include Hai Phong, Da Nang, Qui Nhon and Cam Ranh.

The country is blessed with many incredible national parks including Ca Ba, Cat Tien, Bach Ma, Cuc Phuong and Phong Nha-Ke Bang national, home to Son Doong cave – the biggest cave in the world.

Population is made up of 54 ethnic groups which have their own languages and identity. The Kinh (Viet) make up 90%.

Population: 92.7m (2016)
Official language: Vietnamese
Currency: VND (Vietnamese Dong)
Capital: Hanoi
Largest City: Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon)
Total length: 1,650km north to south
Coastline: 3,260km long
Inland border: 4,510km
Bordered by: China along the northern border, Cambodia and Laos western border, South China sea along the eastern coast and Pacific Ocean to the east and south
Motto: Độc lập – Tự do – Hạnh phúc which means “Independence – Freedom – Happiness”